Aaron Rodgers has enjoyed a Hall of Fame career thus far. He has been selected to the Pro Bowl 10 times, won four NFL MVP Awards and a Super Bowl MVP.

Since taking over as the team’s starter in 2008, Rodgers has led the Packers to the postseason 11 times and led them to a win in Super Bowl XLV.

But which of the Packers teams led by Rodgers is the best? Here is a look at the top five Packers teams during the Rodgers Era. Only seasons where Rodgers was the starter are eligible here so 2007, when he served as the backup to Brett Favre will not appear on this list.

Rankings are based on regular-season record, playoff success and the overall depth and talent level of the teams.

  1. 2021: Record 13-4-0, Lost NFC Championship

The 2021 Packers were the top seed in the NFC playoffs and won 13 games for the third straight season under Matt LaFleur.

Rodgers earned Pro Bowl honors as did top wideout Davante Adams, defensive lineman Kenny Clark while inside linebacker De’Vondre Campbell was named All Pro but not selected for the Pro Bowl.

The Packers overcame a slew of injuries to the offensive line and the loss of Pro Bowl defenders Jaire Alexander and Za’Darius Smith for most of the season to still win 13 games. One of their losses came in a game Rodgers missed due to Covid and another came in a meaningless season finale that saw the Pack rest most of their starters for the second half.

The defense improved under new defensive coordinator Joe Barry and held the 49ers without a touchdown in their playoff game.

Unfortunately, special teams were a disaster this season and the Packers were upset at home by San Francisco in the divisional playoff round 13-10.

  1. 2020; Record 13-3-0, Lost NFC Championship

The Packers offense led the NFL in scoring in 2020, averaging an impressive 31.8-points per game. Six players on offense made the Pro Bowl or were named All Pro including Rodgers, Adams, Aaron Jones, Corey Linsley, David Bakhtiari and Elgton Jenkins.

The defense was less consistent but still improved over the previous season and Za’Darius Smith and Jaire Alexander earned Pro Bowl honors.

The Packers own their final six games of the regular season and defeated the Los Angeles Rams in the opening round of the playoffs before losing a winnable game at home in the NFC Championship Game to the Buccaneers.

Rodgers enjoyed a true revival season, throwing for a career-high 48 touchdowns and just five interceptions while finishing the season with the second highest quarterback rating in NFL history with a 121.5. He won his third league MVP and his first in seven seasons.

This was the best team in the NFC but came up short in the NFC Championship Game to the eventual Super Bowl champs.

  1. 2014: Record 12-4-0, Lost NFC Championship

After a sluggish 1-2 start and a 5-3 mark at the midpoint of the season, the 2014 Packers went 7-1 in the second half of the season to finish 12-4 and win the NFC North.

The Packers led the NFL in scoring again and Rodgers won his second career MVP. Randall Cobb also enjoyed a career season with 91 catches for 1,297 yards and 12 touchdowns. Rodgers, Cobb, Jordy Nelson, John Kuhn and Josh Sitton made the Pro Bowl on offense while Sam Shields and Clay Matthews represented the defense.

The Packers beat the Cowboys in the Division Playoff round and should have defeated the Seahawks on the road in the NFC Championship Game. A failure to score touchdowns early coupled with some special teams breakdowns and a late comeback by Seattle led to a painful overtime loss one step short of the Super Bowl.

  1. 2011: Record 15-1-0, Lost Division Playoff

The 2011 Packers won their first 13 games and finished the season with a franchise best 15 wins. The offense was one of the best of all-time, scoring 560 points (35 points per game) and dominating nearly every week.

Unfortunately, the defense was less consistent especially after Nick Collins suffered a career-ending injury early in the season. The defense was average but that was good enough for the team to win 15 times that season.

Rodgers won his first MVP award and had the highest quarterback rating of any qualified signal caller in NFL history with a 122.5.

Pro Bowlers included Rodgers, Greg Jennings, Scott Wells, B.J. Raji, Matthews and Charles Woodson who had seven interceptions on the season.

The Packers seemed to cool off a bit late in the season and then were upset by the New York Giants in the first round of the playoffs at Lambeau Field.

  1. 2010: Record 10-6-0, Won Super Bowl

The 2010 Green Bay Packers were not a dominant team but they pulled together and went on an incredible playoff run that included three road victories and a win in Super Bowl XLV.

While the offense was top 10 in the league in scoring and yards gained, it was the defense that quietly made the difference. The Packers were fifth in the NFL in yards allowed and gave up the second-fewest points in the league.

The Pack needed to win their final two games to earn the sixth and final seed in the NFC playoffs and then beat the Eagles, Falcons and Bears on the road to advance to the Super Bowl for the first time since 1997. Once there, Rodgers earned MVP honors by throwing for 304 yards and three touchdowns in the Packers 31-25 win over the Pittsburgh Steelers.

Pro Bowlers on offense included Jennings and Chad Clifton while Matthews, Woodson, Collins and Tramon Williams represented the defense.

This team pulled together when it mattered most and saved their best football for the postseason. They remain the best team of the Rodgers Era.


Follow Gil Martin on Twitter @GilPackers

Click here for more great Packers coverage